[219] of 365

I made my first attempt at using yeast this weekend! And I love how it turned out. The recipe will make 4 loaves. It tastes like French bread. Now I want to experiment with the additional things I can make with the base recipe — foccacia bread, monkey bread, pizza dough, dinner rolls, wheat bread… etc. But the outside is crusty and the inside is soft and heavy. Its pretty and delicious!

I used this recipe from Mother Earth News. The article is really long (9 or 10 pages, I think) but the “master” recipe is first and then lots of variations. I hope you try it. There is no kneading and you can let the risen dough wait in your fridge for up to two weeks.

This post has been shared with the Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways blog hop.
Click the picture above to see more awesome entries!

Leave a Reply

