Wake up with a smoothie!

So how do you like to start out your day? Do you have a routine? A cup of coffee, yoga, meditation, the news… There are a ton of options out there. Now that the school year is back in I have started trying to carve out a morning routine for myself. I was in the habit of getting up around 6 (ok, usually 6:30!) so that I could be dressed and ready and have the boys out the door by 7:15 to head to work and summer camp. Now my husband – he’s a regular morning bird. I sure wish I could be. I love the notion of getting up early and going to bed early. It just doesn’t come naturally to me. I’ve been working at it though. I try to get to bed by 10:15 at the latest. Then I’ll read for a half hour or so. Its working out really well actually. And I feel great doing it too! But now that school is in session the boys don’t have to be there til 8:05 (middle school) and 8:45 (grade school) and my work is by 9:00.

banana, peach, strawberry, frozen fruit, orange juice, OJ, morning, berry, sunrise

At first this really bummed me out. I didn’t like all this idle time before I had to leave in the mornings. Then it realized – I could make the most of this time. Have a little “me” time! Well now I’m really starting to enjoy it. I have big plans to update my blog in the mornings, maybe draw, jog or do yoga, finish up some left over housework. And I have about an hour before I have to wake up the kids. My husband already has his own set of routines so its nice to have the company. I used to try to do all of this at the end of my days but by then I was totally exhausted.

banana, peach, strawberry, frozen fruit, orange juice, OJ, morning, berry, sunrise

(*Note the spilled juice in this picture! Its really hard to snap a picture with your right hand while pouring juice with your left! haha) I’ve added these smoothies to my mornings. I make them after lunches while the boys are running around and finishing their breakfasts, right before we head out the door. They are such a nice treat to slurp on the way to work and while I’m at my desk.

banana, peach, strawberry, frozen fruit, orange juice, OJ, morning, berry, sunrise

If you’d like to make this smoothie the way I do, I’ve posted the rather simple instructions here in my recipe section. They are very easy to throw together. I’ve even seen some very organized bloggers that like to chop the fruit and assemble little baggies for the freezer so they can just open and dump and blend. Yay for them, maybe I’ll get there one day. For now, I like the routine I have and will continue to strive for making it work for me. What is your morning routine like?

banana, peach, strawberry, frozen fruit, orange juice, OJ, morning, berry, sunrise

You see why I have to do this when the wee-ones are sleeping?! Haha! He’s such a little helper, taste testing for me:

banana, peach, strawberry, frozen fruit, orange juice, OJ, morning, berry, sunrise, taste test, kids, kitchen helper

There it is, kid tested and kid approved!

Cheers to great mornings everyone!

Leave a Reply

