Hummingbird Cake – and being popular

I made this cake and it was ohmygosh so good!

pecans, roast bananas, hummingbird cake, baking, frosting, cream cheese, pineapple, dessert, spice cake, cinnamon, southern, jamaica, family, love

Have you ever heard of a Hummingbird Cake? Its a very similar to carrot cake or to pear cake in that its a spice cake and you add produce to it. But thats about it. There are pecans added to the cream cheese frosting. It was a hit. I think you should make it. Here’s the recipe.

So a few days ago I submitted a link and a photo to Foodgawker. Have you been there? Its a nice website. And its a lot harder to get accepted than I thought it would be. Over the course of the last 9 months or so I’ve submitted a total of 8 entries that were DENIED. Which is a very harsh feeling. But I got over it and decided that I truly needed to up my game. See what I did there? I didn’t let em get me down. I knew I could do better. So I bought an amazing book by one of my favorite food photographers (Helene Dujardin of Tartelette), Plate to Pixel. She explained some things that I already knew but in a way that I could truly digest. And other things like using natural light and bouncing it back that were new concepts to me. I’m only half way through the book but I have already made huge changes. And they’re working! I’ve had my last two entries to FoodGawker accepted! A big thank you to Helene! You can see them HERE. The cookie entry brought over 400 views to my site in one day. That felt good. Really good. Did it maintain and I’m the next big thing? No. But it feels kind of warm and fuzzy to be accepted into the FoodGawker circle. And its a place I plan on being a part of more often! So I hope you like seeing pictures of food.

One thought on “Hummingbird Cake – and being popular

Leave a Reply

