Project 365 [11/365]

Today I had to get a meal plan and grocery list ready. Its something I look forward to and dread at the same time. I like the idea of setting out a plan for the next week’s food and I like browsing around my cookbooks (especially because I got new ones for Christmas!) and my pinterest board for new ideas. I do not like parting with a huge chunk ‘a change at the grocery store. Oh well, necessary evil I suppose. And on the upside, I get a quiet kid-free trip to the store most of the time.

Click here for this week’s meal plan. There are a couple links to new recipes on there.

Here is a sub sandwich I made for dinner a while back. You will find it on the latest menu. It was a big hit!

sub-sandwich-w-olive-spread

Sub Sandwich with homemade olive artichoke spread. This sandwich is served warm.
Cut a loaf of french bread down the middle.
Spread meats (such as mesquite turkey, smoked ham, and salami) and provolone slices on one side. With a drizzle of olive oil and shredded cheddar cheese down the other side. On the cheese side add about half of the Olive Artichoke Spread.

sub-sandwich-w-olive-spread 2

The spread is a mixture of green olives, black olives, banana pepper rings, and canned artichoke hearts. Dice everything up pretty small and mix it in a bowl. Spread about half onto the sandwich before putting it into the oven.

Broil the sandwich open faced for about 5 – 8 minutes, or til the cheese melts and the edges of the bread start to toast.

sub-sandwich-w-olive-spread 3

After taking the sandwich out of the oven let it cool for just a bit. Then add shredded lettuce and tomato slices. Spread the rest of the Olive Spread out on the sandwich. I like to use mustard or even brown mustard on my sandwich. The hubs and the kids like to use Ranch. So.. whatever floats your boat.

Close it, and cut it into 2 inch sections. Eat it quick so you can grab another section before its gone!

Leave a Reply

