Meal Plan :: June 17

Starting with this meal plan I am taking a lot of inspiration from Heidi Swanson at 101cookbooks and Lisa Leake at 100 Days of Real Food. I’ve followed both of them via their websites and facebook for a couple years now. I received one of Heidi’s cookbooks (Super Natural Everyday) for my birthday. Her site and her cookbook are beautiful. And Lisa has done all the homework for us on her site about eating more real foods. Her dishes are simple and they use common ingredients where Heidi is a bit fancier and has a lot more specialty items in her recipes. Either way – they both stick to basics and eat very healthfully. The hubs and I have been talking about nutrition and health recently so there’s no time to make a healthy eating switch than NOW, ya know.

Grilled Chicken

My meal plan for this week has a couple recipes from each of their websites. You can download it now and take a look — Dinners: June18, 2013, try making some of these new recipes with me. There is a “recipe” for a BLT – and though it seems like the sort of thing you don’t need a recipe for I included the link anyway. She has a good idea about flavoring the mayo with an herb.

Chicken and Home Fries

I just realized that this is the second grilled chicken dinner we’ve had in the past week, but its the beginning of summer and the grill is so good and its nice to keep that heat outside. I grilled them with a basic Italian dressing & Worcestershire Sauce marinade. Its kind of my stand-by. I made a buffalo sauce and warmed up some BBQ sauce that we added to our plates at the table. Then I added “home fries” to the mix so I had to use my oven anyway – d’oh! Have you ever made your own fries? They’re so easy and I only use about a tablespoon of olive oil – no actual frying happens!

Home Fries
Preheat oven to 400°
Cut 4 potatoes into fry shaped rectangles
As you cut them put them in a bowl of cold water
Rinse and rinse and rinse those cut potatoes again – til the water is less starchy and runs clear
Lay them out on a clean dry dishtowel and pat them really dry all over
Transfer to a cookie sheet
Drizzle with about 1 – 2 TBSP olive oil
Sprinkle with sea salt, parmesan (the sprinkly kind), and parsley
Toss around with your hands until the potatoes are all coated pretty evenly
Spread them out across the pan so none are overlapping
Bake for 20 minutes
Take the pan out and flip/toss the fries with a spatula
Return to the oven for about 20 more minutes – or until the fries get as golden and crispy as you’d like them!

For more of my meal plans and for general meal planning tips visit my Super Time! page.

2 thoughts on “Meal Plan :: June 17

  1. Holy cow, that chicken looks so delicious, it makes me sad that I can’t eat it right now. Thanks for nothing! Just kidding 🙂 I’m definitely making the homemade fries asap.

Leave a Reply

