Drawing Inspiration on a Special Day

Today is a very special day to me. Today a very special person was born –
my mammy
My Mammy. She would have been 77 years old. We lost her almost seven years ago to a long battle with lung cancer/ emphysema.
But this isn’t going to be a sad post. I do miss her. I do think about her multiple times every single day. I want to remember her laugh and her voice. I want to remember how her soft wrinkles felt on her hands. I played with the rings she wore – twisting them around on her fingers. I memorized them. The gold and the jewels, its hypnotizing to a little girl.Mammy on the farmShe came from a farm in a small community in Southwestern Missouri. Family was so important to her, especially her children and grandchildren. And her sisters (okay, her brothers too!). We were all so close. And due to my grandpa’s job she moved away from her sisters and home in Missouri. Just a few hours away to Kansas though, so going back home to visit was an easy trip. And a trip I was happy to take with them whenever they’d offer!
Mammy and her sistersNow I draw inspiration from her. I want to believe that the way I am raising my own family would make her proud. I want to be influenced by all that she did – she loved to garden, cook new meals for her family, have a cold beer at the end of the day, enjoy the outdoors, and laugh! I try to weave a bit of “what would mammy do/say/think/react” into my consciousness. I think it makes me a better person and keeps her spark alive for my own children (and one day grandchildren!) to be inspired by as well.

Leave a Reply

